Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Rachel Novotny receives the 2010 CTAHR Award for Excellence in Research

Item 1 Description

Dr. CN Lee (left) and Dr. Jim Brewbaker (right)

Item 1 Description

Dr. Ashley Stokes at the Swine AI Workshop

Item 1 Description

Dr. Halina Zaleski at the Swine AI Workshop

Item 1 Description

Randy Hamasaki, extension agent (left) and Dr. Stuart Nakamoto (right)

Item 1 Description

Maria Stewart at the Manoa Experience

Item 1 Description

Chef Mark and Dr. Ashley Stokes at A Taste of the Hawaiian Range

Item 2 Description

Cyndy Kahalewale

Item 2 Description

Dr. Alan Titchenal

Item 2 Description

Dr. Mark Thorne at a Stockman's Field Day

Item 2 Description

Annual CTAHR Dodgeball Tournament and Picnic

Item 2 Description

Dr. Michael Dunn - CTAHR Excellence in Teaching Award

Item 2 Description

Wayne Toma - Dean’s Outstanding Achievement Awards for APT

Item 2 Description

140 years of service: Spencer Malecha, Steve Spielman, Stuart Nakamato and Wayne Toma receive awards.

Item 2 Description

Dr. Joannie Dobbs (far left), with HNFAS graduate students planting seeds

Item 2 Description

Michael DuPonte, Extension Livestock Agent, Hilo

Item 2 Description

Doug and Linda Vincent at the Taste of the Hawaiian Range

Item 2 Description

Joanne Lee (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation), Rachel Novotny (HNFAS), Jean Hankin and Suzanne Murphy (senior nutritionists)

Item 2 Description

Tasting Blueberries with Stuart Nakamoto at the Taste of the Hawaiian Range

Item 2 Description

Dr. Corilee Watters at the 2011 UH Food Day

Item 2 Description


Faculty

Name Specialty Phone Email
Banna, Jinan Nutrition education, program evaluation, community nutrition 808-956-7857 jcbanna@hawaii.edu
Buckley, Brent ANSC Undergrad Coordinator, beef production and breeding 808-956-7090 buckley@hawaii.edu
Butel, Jeannie Children's Healthy Living Project 808-956-4767 jbutel@hawaii.edu
Ditzler, Ann Dietetics Internship Program 808-956-4318 aditzler@hawaii.edu
Dobbs, Joan Food composition, computer nutrient analysis, applied clinical nutrition, health journalism 808-956-3845 dobbs@hawaii.edu
Dunn, Michael Graduate chair, nutritional biochemistry, mineral metabolism, aluminum toxicity 808-956-3837 mdunn@hawaii.edu
DuPonte, Michael Livestock extension education (Hawaii Cooperative Extension Service) Hilo 808-981-5199 mduponte@hawaii.edu
Fialkowski, Marie Assistant Professor, Human Nutrition, Food, Animal Science 808-956-8337 mariekf@hawaii.edu
Fukumoto, Glen Livestock extension education (Hawaii Cooperative Extension Service) Kona 808-322-4893 gfukumot@hawaii.edu
Hu, CY Animal Scientist 808-956-9565 chinghu@hawaii.edu
Huang, Alvin Food chemistry, nutrient composition 808-956-3840 ahuang@hawaii.edu
Jha, Rajesh Feed Evaluation, Animal and Aquaculture Nutrition, Carbohydrate Metabolism, Gut Physiology and Health 808-956-4122 rjha@hawaii.edu
Jun, Soojin Food Engineering, Food Packaging 808-956-8283 soojin@hawaii.edu
Kanehiro, Naomi Extension community nutrition, Nutrition Education for Wellness (NEW), Oahu County 808-956-7248 nkanehir@hawaii.edu
Kim, Yong-Soo Meat science, muscle biology, animal growth 808-956-8335 ykim@hawaii.edu
Knox, Heather Lecturer 808-791-4453 knoxh@hawaii.edu
Lee, CN Dairy production and reproductive management 808-956-4882 chinl@hawaii.edu
Leslie, Jodi Children's Healthy Living Project 808-956-7021 jodill@hawaii.edu
Li, Fenfang Children's Healthy Living Project 808-956-4759 fenfang@hawaii.edu
Li, Yong Food Science Grad Coordinator, food microbiology, food safety, applied statistics 808-956-6408 liyong@hawaii.edu
Malecha, Spencer Aquaculture production and breeding 808-956-8286 smalecha@hawaii.edu
McGlone, Katalina Children's Healthy Living Project 808-956-3838 kmcglone@hawaii.edu
Nakamoto, Stuart Marketing of perishable products, agricultural economics 808-956-8125 snakamo@hawaii.edu
Nakamura-Tengan, Lynn Extension food safety education: Nutrition Education for Wellness (NEW), Maui County 808-244-3242 ext.233 lynnnaka@hawaii.edu
Novotny, Rachel Nutritional epidemiology, international nutrition, breast feeding and growth 808-956-3848 novotny@hawaii.edu
Odani, Jenee Lecturer 808-483-7129 jsodani@hawaii.edu
Rhee, Walter Food Science, Food Lab wrhee@hawaii.edu
Ron, Tetsuzan Benny Aquaculture Specialist -Extension and Training 808-956-6456 bennyron@hawaii.edu
Segobiano, Mark Culinary Arts 808-956-8691 marksego@hawaii.edu
Shovic, Anne Dietetics Coordinator, dietetics, wellness 808-956-3847 shovic@hawaii.edu
Stevenson, Matthew Livestock extension education (Kaua‘i Cooperative Extension Service) 808-274-3472 stevenso@hawaii.edu
Stewart, Maria FSHN Undergrad Coordinator, dietary fiber content of foods, fiber fermentation, functional foods, intestinal health 808-956-9114 mstew@hawaii.edu
Stokes, Ashley Extension veterinarian (agricultural animal health, emergency preparedness) and Pre-veterinary program advisor; comparative cardiovascular and inflammation research 808-956-8961 amstokes@hawaii.edu
Thorne, Mark Range management, animal feed and forage, (Waimea, Big Island) 808-887-6183 thornem@hawaii.edu
Titchenal, C. Alan Sports nutrition, dietary supplementation, health journalism 808-956-7411 titch@hawaii.edu
Tousman, Amy Human Nutrition   a.tousman@hawaiiantel.net
Vincent, Douglas Reproductive physiology and endocrinology, sustainable animal agriculture 808-956-8393 vincent@hawaii.edu
Yang, Jinzeng ANSC Grad Chair, molecular biology and animal biotechnology 808-956-6073 jinzeng@hawaii.edu
Yoshimura, Emogene Horse Production 808-256-1317 emogene@hawaii.edu
Zaleski, Halina Department Chair, swine production and management, reproductive physiology 808-956-7594 halina@hawaii.edu
Zee, Julia Extension community nutrition, Nutrition Education for Wellness (NEW), Hawaii County 808-981-5199 zee@hawaii.edu

Staff

Name Specialty Phone Email
Asuncion, Carrie Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP), Oahu County 808-956-4124 caasunci@hawaii.edu
Bega, Roxanne Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP), Oahu County 808-956-4124
Brennan, Jaye Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP), Oahu County 808-956-4124
Chun, Deseree Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP), Oahu County 808-956-4124
Chun, Jae-Kun Food engineering
Crosson, Mary Ann Diabetes Detection & Prevention, Hawaii County 808-981-5199  
Davison, Nicky Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) Manager, Nutrition Education for Wellness (NEW) 808-956-4124 ndavison@hawaii.edu
Diaz-Lyke, Maria "Didi" Local Immigrant Farmer Education Program (LIFE), Kamuela, Hawaii 808-887- 6183 mddiaz@hawaii.edu
Fernandez, Theresa Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) 808-244-3242 
Fox, Gabriella Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences Department 808-956-7095  gfox@hawaii.edu
Hill, Erik Children's Healthy Living Project 808-956-4758 erikhill@hawaii.edu
Holley, Carissa Extension community nutrition, Nutrition Education for Wellness (NEW), Oahu County 808-956-4124 ceholley@hawaii.edu
Johnson, Kathleen Children's Healthy Living Project kjo2@hawaii.edu
Kalima, Yvonne Expanded Food & Nutrition Program (EFNEP) 808-956-4124
Kanechika, Kimberly Extension community nutrition, Nutrition Education for Wellness (NEW), Oahu County 808-956-4124 kkanechi@hawaii.edu
Keller, Alicia Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) 808-956-4123
Koki, Terry Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences Department 808-956-8236 theresak@hawaii.edu
Lea, Lisa Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP), Hawaii County 808-956-4124
Luo, Laixin Jr. Researcher, Food Safety 808-956-3842 laixin@hawaii.edu
Martinez, Linda Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) 808-981-5199 Komohana@ctahr.hawaii.edu
Migoze, Jane Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) 808-244-3242
Nishimura, Kami Extension community nutrition, Nutrition Education for Wellness (NEW), Oahu County 808-956-4124 kamin@hawaii.edu
Potter, Lori Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP), Kauai County 808-9564124
Sakaida, Casi Fiscal 808-956-4878 csakaida@hawaii.edu
Spielman, Steve Ag Sci Building, Networks, Database 808-956-7013 spielman@hawaii.edu
Tachibana, Alvin Children's Healthy Living Project 808-956-4760 atachiba@hawaii.edu
Tauyan, Cory Small Animal Facility Coordinator 808-956-6726 socorro@hawaii.edu
Wang, Heng Molecular Biology, Animal Biotech hengwang@hawaii.edu
Wang, Jun Food Engineering
Wold, Karen Expanded Food & Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP), Oahu County 808-956-4124